The Bhavarlal & Kantabai Jain Foundation 39th Premier National Women Chess Championship – 2012 was off to a colorful start in at President Cottage Resort, Ajintha Road, M.I.D.C., Jalgaon, Maharashtra here today. The tournament has attracted 31 entries. International Master Eesha Karavade of Maharashtra is the top seed.

Shri D V Sundar, Vice President, FIDE (World Chess Federation), Shri. Bharat Singh, Hon. Secretary, All India Chess Federation, Shri. R. M. Dongre, Treasurer, All India Chess Federation, Smt. Jayashri Dhande Mayor of Jalgaon, Shri Dnyaneshwar Rajurkar Collector of Jalgaon Dist, Shri S. JaiKumar Superintend of Police of Jalgaon and Grand Master Abjeet Kunte were special guests for inaugural function.

Shri. Faruk Shaikh, Secretary, Central Maharashtra State Chess Association, gave the welcome address.

Delivering the Guest of Honor address, Shri D V Sundar, Vice President, FIDE (World Chess Federation) said, “AICF got new place to host national Tournaments” and opportunity for our young players to show their talents against stars of India.

Shri S. JaiKumar Superintend of Police of Jalgaon made a symbolic first move against current champion Mary Ann Gomes and Maharashtra players to inaugurate the event. Shri. Shakil Deshapande of Executive member, propose the vote of thanks.

Aarthie stuns top seed

WGM Aarthie adopted Tarrasch variation against Eesha’s French defence, Aarthie made full use of few weaker moves of Eesha to launch strong attack in the center against Eesha’ uncastled king. The game ended in 24 moves

1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. Nd2 Be7 4. Ngf3 Nf6 5. e5 Nfd7 6. Bd3 c5 7. c3 Nc6 8. O-O g5 9. dxc5 g4 10. Nd4 Ndxe5 11. Bb5 Bd7 12. b4 a5 13. Bxc6 bxc6 14. f4 Nd3 15. N2b3 Nxc1 16. Rxc1 axb4 17. cxb4 Qb8 18. b5 cxb5 19. Qxg4 Bf6 20. f5 Ra4 21. fxe6 Bxe6 22. Rce1 Be5 23. Qh5 Rxd4 24. Rxe5. Result 1-0

First Round Results:

WGM Ramaswamy Aarthie of AI (1) beat IM Karavade Eesha of (MAH) (0), WGM Gomes Mary Ann of AAI (1) beat Pratyusha Bodda of AP (0), WIM Ivana Maria Furtado of GOA (½) drew with IM Mohota Nisha of PSPB (½), WGM Padmini Rout of AAI (½) drew with WIM Thipsay Bagyashree Sathe of MAH (½), WFM Raghavi N of TN (0) lost to WGM Meenakshi Subbaraman of AI (1), WGM Swathi Ghate of LIC (1) beat Michelle Catherina P of TN (0) , Mokal Amruta Sunil of MAH (½) drew with WGM Soumya Swaminathan of PSPB (½), WFM Pujari Rucha of MAH (0) lost to WFM Swati Mohota of WB (1), WFM Mahalakshmi M of TN (0) lost to WGM Kulkarni Bhakti of GOA (1), Nimmy A G of KER(1) beat Cholleti Sahajasri of AP (0), Harini S of TN (½) drew with WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty of LIC (½), WGM Nadig Kruttika of MAH (½) drew with Lasya G of AP (½), WFM Kotepalli Sai Nirupama of AP (0) lost to WFM Saranya J of TN (1), WIM Priya P of TN (1) beat Shweta Gole of MAH (0), Rajasurya J of TN (0) lost to WFM Chandika Divyasree of AP (1)

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,
Share: 0