Grandmaster Sengupta Deep emerged 2014 Commonwealth Chess Champion by edging the young star IM Aravindh Chithambaram on tiebreak after both players concluded the event with 7,5/9 points each.

In the final 9th round Sengupta defeated GM Sahaj Grover, while Aravindh detroned the defending Commonwealth Champion and then leader GM Gupta Abhijeet.

The Commonwealth Chess Championships 2014 were held from 30 June to 8 July at the Glasgow City College in Glasgow.

Replay games with analysis

Indians dominated the field of 152 players, allowing only the New Zealand Champion IM Wang Puchen and the new Scottish Champion Alan Tate near the top.

English higher rated players were indifferent about participation in the event.

Final standings:

1-2. GM Sengupta Deep IND 2536 and IM Aravindh Chithambaram VR. IND 2444 – 7,5
3-5. GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2634, GM Debashis Das IND 2484 and GM Lalith Babu M.R. IND 2561 – 7,0
6-14. GM Grover Sahaj IND 2483, GM Ankit R. Rajpara IND 2511, IM Wang Puchen NZL 2450, IM Das Arghyadip IND 2435, FM Thakur Akash IND 2288, WGM Soumya Swaminathan IND 2318, GM Barua Dibyendu IND 2452, WGM Kulkarni Bhakti IND 2231 and FM Tate Alan SCO 2339 – 6,5 etc

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,
Share: 0