He came before the likes of Sergei Karjakin  Peter Svidler and Alexander Morozevich when he won the Russian championship last winter. Now the reigning Russian champion Igor Lysyj turn his gaze towards Sweden and joins the increasingly strong starting field in Hasselbacken Chess Open.

Stefan Lindh, President of the Stockholm Society, says:
– Russian championship of chess has its very own chapter of history. So it is clear that we as a club are especially proud to bring the reigning Russian champion Igor Lysyj to our tournament. I can not recall when a reigning Russian champions last agreed to an open tournament in Sweden.
Igor Lysyj became Grand Master in 2007 and has a number of tournament victories. In 2006, he shared the victory in Zudov memorial with Roman Ovetchkin . The two have since been authoring colleagues and published chess opening books. He also shared the 1st prize in Voronezh Open in 2009 and the same year he shared the victory in Rilton Cup in Stockholm. But everything is overshadowed by the victory in the Russian championship last winter.
The final standings: 1 ) Igor Lysyj, 2 ) Yakovenko, 3-7) Khismatullin, Nepomniachtchi, Svidler, Morozevich, Vitiugov, 8-10 ) Zvjaginsev, Grachev and Karjakin.

Russian champions last ten years

2004: Garry Kasparov. 2005: Sergei Rublevsky. 2006: Evgeny Alekseev. 2007:Alexander Morozevich. 2008: Peter Svidler. 2009: Alexander Grischuk. 2010: Ian Nepomniachtchi. 2011: Peter Svidler. 2012: Dmitry Andreikin. 2013: Peter Svidler.2014: Igor Lysyj.

Tags: ,
Share: 0