The Reykjavik Open 2016 will be held for the 31st time from March 8th to March 16th 2016 in Harpa, the 28.000 sqm. concert hall. As usual the 2016 tournament is expected to be quite strong.

Last year the tournament celebrated the 80th birthday of legendary Icelandic Grandmaster and former FIDE president, Fridrik Olafsson. The winner was Erwin l’Ami with a performance for the ages.

In the last two years we have had players exceeding 250 players from a variety of countries (over 30) usually including over 30 grandmasters as well. Prizes in 2016 will include many special prizes for various ages and rating categories, in addition to the traditional top women prize and main tournament prizes.

The 2014 Edition was voted the 2nd best open tournament in the world by ACP. Only Gibraltar was higher on the list.


The City of Reykjavík has sponsored the tournament since its inception in 1964, when Mikhail Tal won it with a record 12½ points out of 13. The tournament was initially held every two years, but has since 2008 taken place every year. It was closed in its early years, but has been an open event since the 1980s. Throughout its history the Reykjavik Open has featured many of the strongest chess players in the world at the time, including Mikhail Tal, Nona Gaprindashvili, David Bronstein, Vasili Smyslov, Bent Larsen, Friðrik Ólafsson, Mark Taimanov, Lev Polugaevsky, Jan Timman, Victor Korchnoi, Samuel Reshevsky, Anthony Miles, Hikaru Nakamura, Judit Polgar, Magnus Carlsen, Alexander Grischuk, Fabiano Caruana and Hou Yifan.

The Reykjavík Open has enjoyed such an enviable reputation that more than 200 chess masters registered interest in participating last year and we expect be a similar number of GMs in the 2016 tournament. As in previous years, the goal of organizers to is invite many of the youngest and most promising chess players in the world, as well as the strong women players. 2016 promises to be big and diverse as previous editions!

Participants (top 40 seeds):

1. GM Mamedyarov Shakhriyar AZE 2747
2. GM Andreikin Dmitry RUS 2732
3. GM Rapport Richard HUN 2720
4. GM Sargissian Gabriel ARM 2702
5. GM Cheparinov Ivan BUL 2684
6. GM Melkumyan Hrant ARM 2653
7. GM Movsesian Sergei ARM 2653
8. GM Grandelius Nils SWE 2646
9. GM Jones Gawain C B ENG 2645
10. GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2634
11. GM Beliavsky Alexander G SLO 2630
12. GM Agdestein Simen NOR 2610
13. GM Stefansson Hannes ISL 2600
14. GM Marin Mihail ROU 2597
15. GM Grigoriants Sergey RUS 2587
16. GM Dvirnyy Danyyil ITA 2572
17. GM Gretarsson Hjorvar Steinn ISL 2572
18. GM Brunello Sabino ITA 2567
19. GM Ramirez Alejandro USA 2564
20. IM Tari Aryan NOR 2553
21. GM Rambaldi Francesco ITA 2541
22. GM Bromberger Stefan GER 2532
23. GM Shabalov Alexander USA 2520
24. IM Di Berardino Diego BRA 2511
25. IM Ly Moulthun AUS 2500
26. GM Danielsen Henrik ISL 2488
27. IM Andersen Mads DEN 2479
28. GM Kristjansson Stefan ISL 2478
29. IM Paehtz Elisabeth GER 2474
30. IM Petrov Nikita RUS 2464
31. IM Lampert Jonas GER 2463
32. IM Esserman Marc USA 2458
33. IM Salomon Johan NOR 2452
34. IM Kjartansson Gudmundur ISL 2446
35. IM Tan Justin AUS 2441
36. IM Sarkar Justin USA 2426
37. IM Thorfinnsson Bragi ISL 2419
38. IM Lehner Oliver AUT 2418
39. FM Koop Thorben GER 2416
40. GM Thorhallsson Throstur ISL 2416

Tags: , ,
Share: 0