Daniël Noteboom Tournament 2009
Photo and report by Frits Agterdenbos of www.chessvista.com

The Ukrainian GM Yuri Solodovnichenko has won the 69th Daniël Noteboom Tournament, which took place 20-22 February 2009 in Leiden (Netherlands).

Yuri Solodovnichenko and Friso Nijboer scored both 5.5/6 points, but Solodovnichenko won the cup having a better Buchholz score.

In the final round Yuri Solodovnichenko defeated Erik Van Den Doel and Friso Nijboer defeated Martin Roobol.

Predrag Nikolic, Roi Miedema, Roger Meng and Bob Beeke tied for third place with 5.0 points. The tournament attracted 317 participants: 146 participants (including 4 GMs and 1 IM) in the main group (Group A, Elo > 1800), plus 88 participants in the second group (Group B, 1600 < Elo < 1900), and 83 participants in the third group (Group C, Elo < 1700). Group B was won by Jaap Van Der Heijden and group C was won by Donna Kok. The Daniël Noteboom Tournament is a weekend tournament, 48 hours from Friday night till Sunday afternoon, 6 rounds Swiss 40 moves / 105 minutes + 15 minutes to finish the game. The tournament was organized by chess club LSG. The 70th Daniël Noteboom Tournament will be held 12-14 February 2010.

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,
Share: 0