The 2010 SPICE Cup will take place on Thursday, October 28 – Sunday, November 7 at the beautiful campus of Texas Tech University. This prestigious event is growing bigger every year. It is expected to be the highest rated international invitational tournament in U.S. history to date.

To make the tournament a lot more exciting, the SPICE Cup committee has unanimously voted to adapt the following new rules for the A group:

– No draw offer allowed prior to move 30
– A win = 3 points, a draw = 1 point, and loss = 0 point

Confirmed players:

GM Zoltan Almasi (HUN) 2717 (#2 in Hungary)
GM Alexander Onischuk (USA) 2701 (#3 in the U.S., former U.S. Champion)
GM Wesley So (Philippines) 2674 (#1 in the Philippines)
GM Georg Meier (Germany) 2648 (#2 in Germany)
GM Ray Robson (USA) 2562 (Youngest American GM in history)
GM Eugene Perelshteyn (USA) 2523 (winner of 2007 SPICE Cup)

The format of the A group will once again be a 6-player DRR (category 16) event. GM Almasi of Hungary is the final player confirmed. The average FIDE rating of the A group is 2637.5.

More than 30 GMs inquired about an invitation for the final spot in the A group. I wish I have enough space to invite everyone. Unfortunately, it is not possible. But I am working on getting more sponsors to expand the event in future years.

The B group will be a 10-player (category 10-11) RR event. The players confirmed for B group so far is GM Kuljasevic (2551), GM Finegold (2530), IM Krush (2476), IM Ippolito (2458), IM Rensch (2404), FM Yang (2396), and 3 more have been tentatively confirmed.

We are planning to add a C group for 2010 in addition to an Open Tournament.

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , , ,
Share: 0