Grandmaster Igor Efimov (ELO 2390) has won the 2015 Monaco Chess Championship, which was held at the Monaco Chess Club, from 20-25th February.

Efimov scored 5,5 points, the same as Karl Ribbegren (ELO 2202), but thanks to better tie-break, Efimov took the title. GM Algimantas Butnorius (ELO 2377) came clear third with 5 points.

Svetlana Berezovska (ELO 1849) became the Women Champion.

Players who qualified for the European Small Nations Championship 2015 to be held in Guernsey (Championships 2014 + 2015) are: GM Igor Efimov, GM Algimantas Butnorius, Karl Ribbegren, FM Pierre Villegas and FM Patrick Van Hoolandt. The substitute is Jean François Nelis.

The Championship was played according to the Swiss System in 7 rounds.

More photos and information on Facebook

News courtesy of ECU

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Share: 0