The tie-breaks were played today in Khanty-Mansiysk
On Friday, November 16th the Ugra Chess Academy hosted the tie-breaks of the second round. Today there were no Armageddon games, but the games were nevertheless very tense and exciting.
Monika Socko (Poland) continued her sensational winning streak by beating the World Champion Hou Yifan in both rapid games. Thus Hou Yifan lost her title and, according to FIDE regulations, will face the winner of this championship in a title match during the third quarter of 2013.
Anna Ushenina (Ukraine) knocked out the third place finisher of the FIDE Grand Prix Anna Muzychuk (Slovenia), winning both rapid games.
Zhao Xue (China) defeated Nino Khurtsidze (Georgia) in the first game and made a draw in the second one, securing the match victory.
Irina Krush (USA) won both games against Pia Cramling (Sweden) and said at the press-conference that she never advanced to the third round before.
Nadezhda Kosintseva (Russia) and Lilit Mkrtchian (Armenia) exchanged blows in rapid games – Lilit won the first game, Nadezhda came back in the second one. The first ten-minute game ended in favor of Kosintseva, and a draw in the second game allowed he to advance to the next stage. Ironically, Nadezhda will be playing her sister Tatiana Kosintseva. Usually they make quick draws with each other, but this time there can be no draw… Without a doubt, their match will be one of the main attractions of the third round.
Ju Wenjun (China) and Anna Zatonskih (USA) drew both rapid games, and the Chinese prevailed in the 10-minute match and advanced to the next stage.
Tie-break results:
Hou Yifan (China) – M. Socko (Poland) 0-2
A. Muzychuk (Slovenia) – A. Ushenina (Ukraine) 0-2
Zhao Xue (China) – N. Khurtsidze (Georgia) 1,5 – 0,5
N. Kosintseva (Russia) – L. Mkrtchian (Armenia) 2,5-1,5
P. Cramling (Sweden) – I. Krush (USA) 0-2
Ju Wenjun (China) – А. Zatonskih (USA) 3-1
The third round pairings:
М. Socko (Poland) – А. Stefanova (Bulgaria)
Ju Wenjun (China) – N. Zhukova (Ukraine)
А. Ushenina (Ukraine) – N. Pogonina (Russia)
М. Muzychuk (Ukraine) — Zhao Xue (China)
L. Javakhishvili (Georgia) – H. Dronavalli (India)
T. Kosintseva (Russia) – N. Kosintseva (Russia)
Huang Qian (China) – I. Krush (USA)
А. Galliamova (Russia) – М. Sebag (France)

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,
Share: 0