2008 Villarobledo Rapid

This strong Villarobledo rapid tournament took place on August on 2-3, 2008. Former World Champion Veselin Topalov won clear first. He only yielded 2 draws (against Mamedyarov and Ponomariov). His key victory was against Shirov in the last round.

Final standings:

1. Topalov 8.0 (9 rounds)
2. Mamedyarov 7.5
3-7. Ponomariov, Palac, Malakhov, Ljubojevic, Arizmendi 7.0
8-17. Shirov, Paunovic, I.Sokolov, Van Wely, Abreu, Perez Candelario, Dreev, Guliyev, Lafuente, Minzer 6.5, etc. (136 players total)

Official website: http://www.ajedrezenvillarrobledo.com/

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,
Share: 0